'save' in the battery pop-up

Tell us your ideas for how to make the game better.

Re: 'save' in the battery pop-up

Postby worfc » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:15 pm

Lost name change: Hmmm, "it works for me!" ;) Is it possible that you did this:

- Change robot name.
- Somehow manage to not-save your farm. (Crash?)
- Update to latest version.
- Noticed not-saved robot name; attributed to the update.

... or something like that?

The robot's name is saved with the farm. If your farm uploaded and you re-downloaded it, the changes are there. If the robot-name-change isn't there, then neither should be any of your progress during your last play session. Can you confirm that?

If there's an issue where your farm isn't being saved, that's a bug, too. (Though it's already known that we don't deal well with bad-connectivity -- "on the list!" :) ) But I'm pretty sure your robot-names are saved with the farms.
Posted by WORFC, board admin, moderator, game author.

Please LIKE us on Facebook
You can also follow us on twitter: @roboFarmCraft
Check out the development blog (short updates 1-3x/week.)
User avatar
worfc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: 'save' in the battery pop-up

Postby Denis » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:22 pm

Well, I did not notice any loss in farm status recently. I'd have to check when you posted what the save button did to be sure.

But, I can't say I check the Robot's name on a regular basis so it's totally possible that it just didn't 'stick' and I didn't notice.

Second-but: it wouldn't be the first time you started with "hey this isn't broken" and finally found out I was right after all ;)
Denis
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: 'save' in the battery pop-up

Postby worfc » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:31 pm

Denis wrote:Second-but: it wouldn't be the first time you started with "hey this isn't broken" and finally found out I was right after all ;)


Oh, absolutely! I'm not quite as infallible as the Pope... ;)

I wrote a bug about it -- I just mean "I can't make it happen, given the info you provided." I asked another player I was chatting with to give it a go and he couldn't either.

So: "neener neener!" ;)

Seriously, though -- if you happen to come up with a way to reproduce, I'd appreciate hearing about it. In the mean time, if you wouldn't mind checking this test case:

* Log in.
* Rename your robot.
* Sign-out (Farm view => Robo/Misc menu => Sign out)
* [Optional] Force quit the game, after giving it a few seconds to upload your farm.)
* Log back in.
* Check your robot name.

Thanks!
Posted by WORFC, board admin, moderator, game author.

Please LIKE us on Facebook
You can also follow us on twitter: @roboFarmCraft
Check out the development blog (short updates 1-3x/week.)
User avatar
worfc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: 'save' in the battery pop-up

Postby worfc » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:35 pm

Aside: I kind of half wonder if TestFlight just force-quit a game in progress -- without giving it a chance to save/upload -- when you did the update.

If so: don't do that! ;)

(Also, once I get "use saved-to-disk farm" working that should help mitigate.)
Posted by WORFC, board admin, moderator, game author.

Please LIKE us on Facebook
You can also follow us on twitter: @roboFarmCraft
Check out the development blog (short updates 1-3x/week.)
User avatar
worfc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: 'save' in the battery pop-up

Postby Denis » Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:09 pm

worfc wrote:* Log in.
* Rename your robot.
* Sign-out (Farm view => Robo/Misc menu => Sign out)
* Log back in.
* Check your robot name.


Sigh. I did that. Signed out and saw the 'Saving farm' and got back to the splash screen. Logged back in (play saved farm) and I lost about 2 hours of progress. So, yes the name was reset to what it was prior to me changing it, along with a lot of hoeing and planting...

Edit: I did the exact same thing in the latest hot fix 2b-e, after hoeing a line to make sure it was at a different state than the latest reset and it worked (name stayed, and I didn't reset).
Denis
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:17 pm

Previous

Return to Gameplay Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron